My Wife’s Postmates Job

Hello, Honored Readers. I’m Petty Officer Edmundson, and THIS is The Veterans’ Voice.

Once again, it’s been a while since I’ve written a post in this blog, but I’m making the attempt to provide content herein more regularly than I have been.

One thing I am keenly aware of is the need for a job. Many veterans are in need of employment. Let’s face it, one’s military specialty doesn’t always translate into useful skills out in the civilian world. In my Coast Guard career I was a pollution investigator, and before that I was a Gunner’s Mate (firearms technician for those not familiar with Naval/Coast Guard Parlance). Though my experience as a pollution investigator has given me some skills that I can use in virtually any job (such as reading a safety data sheet, knowledge of handling hazardous material, etc), my knowledge of handling and repairing firearms isn’t exactly useful in…say…working as a maintenance man at McDonald’s. This is why I mention my wife’s new job at Postmates.

Postmates is a delivery service. As a Postmate, you receive orders on your smartphone via the Postmates app. If you accept the order, you simply drive to the merchant (a store or restaurant), pick up the order (Either the order will be ready for you, or in some cases you are given a list of items to collect), then take it to the customer’s home, and hand it over to them. You are paid a base rate for the order and the pick up, and you are paid a rate fee for time and distance. Additionally, if you get the order to the customer within the time limit given to you by the app (when you confirm that you have picked up the order from the merchant), you get a bonus. While the pay is roughly $6 -$8 per order (rounded off to the nearest dollar), if you put some time and effort into it, you can make a descent living with this job. (On a side note, my wife has also recently started a job with Uber Eats as well to increase her potential earnings).

Now, I mention this to you, because Postmates is an easy job. Going to places is simple since the app uses your preferred navigation app (Google Maps in my wife’s case) to help you get to both the merchant’s location, and the customer’s home. The app gives you step by step instructions oon picking up the order, and delivering it to the customer. All you really need is a vehicle. I highly recommend this to any one of my fellow veterans who might be struggling to make ends meet. Postmates can work for you as your primary job, or as a second job.

With so many people struggling to make ends meet, it’s important to look into all possible resources to support yourself. Postmates is one possibility. You work your own hours, work as much or as little as you wish, and the actual work is as simple as go to the merchant, pick up the order, go to the customer’s home, and drop it off. Simple, easy, no selling involved.

Well, that’s all for now, Honored Readers. I’m Petty Officer Edmundson, and THIS has been the Veterans’ Voice.

Leave a comment