The Chaplain’s Trip

Hello, Honored Readers, I’m Petty Officer Edmundson, and THIS is the Veterans’ Voice.

It’s Wednesday, and that means “Hump Day Humor”.  Maybe I should write this as part of “Sunday with the Chaplain” since today’s humorous offering involves a chaplain, but it’s a joke, so it goes on Hump Day Humor.  Here goes.

An army chaplain (feel free to change the branch of service to suit your own tastes), was stationed at boot camp (doesn’t matter where).   Normally the chaplain only saw the recruits on Sundays, or during the week when the recruits got permission from their sergeant to go see the chaplain to discuss personal issues.  Well, one day, the chaplain decided to accompany one boot camp company on a field march, just to see what his “flock” goes through day in and day out.  For the first five miles of the march, he felt great.  He was out in the sunshine, enjoying the fresh air, listening to the recruits chanting a jaunty cadence.  Then he tripped on a root and uttered a mild expletive.

With the recruits eying him curiously, he looked skyward, and said, “I’m sorry, Lord.”

That past, he caught up to the company and began to enjoy the march again, occasionally taking a sip of water from his canteen.  After a few hours, he tripped again.

He looked skyward and said, “I said I was sorry, Lord, you didn’t have to trip me!”

That’s today’s offering, Honored Readers.  If you have a joke, or funny story you’d like me to share on Hump Day Humor, go to the contact page, and send it to me via email.  Please put “Hump Day Humor” in the subject line.

That’s all for today, Honored Readers, I’m Petty Officer Edmundson, and THIS has been the Veterans’ Voice!

Leave a comment